Where can i buy the equipment i need

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Davebispham81

Reaction score
Hi all, im brand new to this brewing thing but really fancy a go at it, although im not sure where to buy all the equipment i need, are any of you guys from the Burnley area ? if so are there any home brew shops around here ? i tried finding what i need on google but cant find anything in the area.

Thanks in advance

We're short of homebrew shops up here as well :!: There's little or none in the Kendal / Lancaster area :(

I actually drove down to Leyland to pick up everything I needed, but was worth the 2 hour round trip, the shop is well stocked :thumb:

http://www.leylandhomebrew.com/

i bought this kit (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Complete-Home...ategoryZ38172QQvarZ660003403029QQcmdZViewItem) to start off with as bottles are already included, i soon learned i needed a bit more equipment but its available here and the postage is capped at £5.95 no matter how much you buy.

also very handy:
1 extra 25 ltr fermenting bucket (with tap) - thats for filling with tap water to top up the fermenter
campden tablets - I add a half campden tablet to the tap water (to take off any off tastes from chemicals in the tap water)
an auto syphon - when bottling i syphon the beer out of the original bucket and into a fresh sterilised one, so that I'm not filling the bottles from the same bucket which has all the yeast at the bottom.otherwise u can buy a syphon tube but then you need to get a mouthful of flat warm beer! the auto syphon starts itself after a few shakes.

Ive since bought myself loads of gear, a proper hydrometer with trial jars, extra bottles as I wanted to start another kit straight away and extra fermenting vessels. also bought a few 5litre PET jugs for the turbo cider aswell, a bottle steriliser.