Trial jars - any use?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wontigonk

Reaction score
Just getting back into brewing (early days yet and malt extract at present - AG comes later) so coming up with basic questions I'd be grateful for some sage council on!

Trawling the various on line stores, I see plastic trial jars advertised. I've never used one before - just dropped the (clean and sterilised) hydrometer into the brewing bin, and then sworn as the bubbles form around it.

Are trial jars worth it, or just "yet more stuff" as my wife puts it?

If useful, how do you get beer from bin to jar, and once used do you chuck it (seems a waste) or return it

Thanks in advance

i personly think trial jars are worth it. I use a sanatisesd turky baster to get my samples from the FV. And dont put the samples back, if you do you run the risk of infection. i usualy drink mine.

P.S Moley as one of the poshest trial jars ive ever seen. :mrgreen:

Wontigonk said:
If useful, how do you get beer from bin to jar, and once used do you chuck it (seems a waste) or return it

Most of us have ended up fitting a tap to our FVs.

And yes, as davesiv says - just drink it. This has the added benefit of giving you more information about how the fermentation is progressing - or at least that's what I tell myself.

Definately drink it. You'll get a better idea of whats occuring with your brew if you drink the samples you've taken IMO. Prolly not wise to pour it back in.
Trial Jars are definately worth the investment but I'd steer clear of the plastic ones that push into a base-the base gets weak over time. Plus plastic ones don't like very hot wort. Glass ones are the way to go.