Pressure Fermentation/Strong Sulphur Smell

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Crafty

Reaction score
Hi All,

New member and first post so apologies if its been covered before.

I've been brewing for about 9 months, only using kits and was just about to make the jump to all grain when I ran into a few issues with off smells/flavours.

I've been pressure fermenting using the keg King chubby and had a about 5 successful brews, the last too have been disposed off unfortunately due to very and I mean very strong sulphur smells and the beer tasting similar to how it smelt.

I have been attaching the spunding valve and set this to about 5psi from the very beginning straight after pitching the yeast, around the 3-4 day mark is when the sulphur smell hits. I've been wondering if this could be stressed yeast, doesn't explain why I had a few successful ones all done in the same way but ambient temperature has been high now we are in summer so I could have just about got away with it before and now being slightly warmer too has pushed it over the edge!

I've ruled out sanitation issue as I've got a successful brew going now using all the same equipment cleaned in the same way, the only difference really is I'm using an airlock, no pressure no spunding valve etc. Hence suspecting pressure to be the issue .

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Yup the yeast needs nutrient.

I would stir in 1tsp of a proprietary nutrient, soon as.
Thank you for your reply I will do that and hope it recovers. Do you think it's the way I've approached pressure fermenting, building pressure from the start? Should I allow it to vent normally with no pressure until the yeast gets going then apply pressure towards the end of fermentation only?

I can't comment on pressure fermentation. I never have. Don't make lager, so I have written it off.