Dirty CO2??

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CptnCrackoff

Regular.
Reaction score
i have done some research before posting but cant get a definate answer, i thought i'd ask the guys that know.....

I have come to have a co2 cylinder (1kg), its supplied to use in welding, i have read that this is 'dirty'co2, and not food grade, i cant see that the actual gas can be different, speaking to the welders at work they say it needs to be pretty pure to be any use to them (i'm no welding expert!!).

i emailed the company that supply them, they responded earlier saying its not suitable as brewers co2 has added nitrogen....am i daft or is that complete nonsense??

does anyone have any ideas, obviously i'm brewing on a budget, i can get it filled for less than £3 a time!

if it does sound useable i'l post pics of the end to see if its got a good fitting to go straight to a keg lid - i have looked at pics but still not sure and cant get to the LHBS til next week!

i am still relatively new to brewing and have only kegged once, so any advice would be great!

cheers

jon

CptnCrackoff said:
i emailed the company that supply them, they responded earlier saying its not suitable as brewers co2 has added nitrogen....am i daft or is that complete nonsense??

I can help on this point, yes they are talking out of their mangina's - you do get c02/nitro mix gasses (for Guinness etc) but brewers also use just c02.

Same here welding bottle from my welder, I now use argon! Definalty not good for brewers! and it gets filled at a fire extinguisher service centre!

Whilst on the subject of gasses can we use pure nitrogen instead of co2?

its got this fitting......

Image134.jpg

Image135.jpg

at the moment i'm using those little 8g bulb thingys...similar to what i used to use in a target pistol some years ago...

Nitrogen isn't very soluble in liquids.