Chilli Wine, first ever attempt.....

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wol

Reaction score
Hi, i've recently come back to brewing after a a year or so out, and this is my first attempt at doing a wine.
I've done a bit of research, and i've decided to go with a chilli wine, and heres the process i've decided to go with.......

200g of chopped chillis
250g of chopped raisans
1/2 juice from a lemon
Boiled 1 ltr of water, added to ingredients, plan to leave for a couple of days to create the must.

Now where im getting a bit confused is when do i add the pectolase and tannin?? Does that need to be in there at the very start, or just before it goes in the DJ??

Also how much sugar would need to go in this? Im planning to make 5Ltrs.

Thanks for the help!

Other than kits, I've only made WoW, but for that, you need 900g sugar for 5 litres. You might need less, due to the raisins. The pectolase and tannin go in with the liquid ingredients.

ok, so.....

- chuck in the tannin and pectolase into the must
- leave for a few days, strain into DJ
- Dissolve quantity of sugar into water, add to DJ along with glycerine with yeast & nutrient
- Wait till fermented out and rack into another DJ with crushed CT
- Stabalise and de-gas
- Bottle it and wait

Sound about right?

Hi Wol Like the idea of chilli wine Me and the wife are chilli addicts What type of chillis do you use in your wine ? Would Scotch Bonnet (Our favourite ) be too much of a challenge to drink ?

Hi, sorry for the late reply, but i used a medium to hot chilli, rather than a flat out beast like the scotch bonnets as i was thinking it would be better to have a higher quantity of chillis in the must for maximum flavour, rather than a few super hot ones and it ending up a bit pissy.