Adventures in brewing - Day 2 (AG#2)

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Notlaw

Dubbel Dragon
Reaction score
Mashing now with about half an hour to go, so grabbing a cuppa and updating you fine brewers.

Belgian Pale "Split Lip and Crooked Halo"

10 litre batch
1.8kg Pilsner malt [EBC 3]
0.2kg Caramunich [EBC 90] (God, this stuff smells good)
17g Goldings @ 60m
6g Saaz @ 10m
17g Saaz @ FO
Danstar Belle Saison yeast

Strike water to 72 targeting mash temp of 66...hit it bang on the money.

Quick question, could I just use the full sachet of yeast (11g)? It won't keep and seems a shame to chuck some away.

Firstly, i should say as you know I'm a complete novice, but I think you can keep it a short while.

I used half a packet on my first brew, and the second half on my 2nd brew two weeks later.

I just kept it in the sachet in a small tupperware tub in the fridge. It worked perfectly for me.

Belgian yeast gives a very specific flavour profile, the esters are normally fruity, spicy or bananary.
Getting these esters nicely pronounced is linked to pitching rates. I think it would be worth pitching half to give you the best chance of getting the flavours right.
Judging by the grain bill of two kilos it's not high gravity? If so you won't need to pitch extra to deal with this.

It'll keep in the fridge, sellotape it up. Or bung it all in and save some slurry when you bottle.

Coming up to the boil now. Got just over 11.5l with a pre-boil gravity of 1.040, which is a bit lower than I'd expected, but we'll see where we end up.

Not sure what I'm doing wrong, but I lost nearly 2.5 litres to boil off and my OG has come in at 1.068. Target was 1.061, but as my pre-boil gravity was down, I expected OG to also be down. Am I boiling too vigorously? Is that about right, or am I doing something else wrong perhaps?

Any assistance welcomed.