What is that taste?!?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

riblau

Reaction score
Why do all of my brews have the same slightly chemically/bitter taste to them, they are still fine to drink, and people are generally positive about them, but all my kit beers seem to have a distinct taste to them.

My mate referred to it as the 'homebrew taste', but what is it, and why don't commercial beers have it, and what do I do to reduce/get rid of it.

I don't dechlorinate, I'm fairly thorough with sanitation, I use double can kits, I follow the instructions and then some with time to ferment/condition, and I use brewing sugar to prime....

Any thoughts?

Hi riblau,

I'm new to brewing kits (on my 2nd now) and was going to post something similar.
I use campden in the water and i'm strict with sterilisation as i've learnt from different sources it's key.
I 'm happy with the brews i've made, a Muntons IPA and Muntons Wheat Bear and get positive feedback from mates.
This taste as far as i'm aware isn't a problem with infection ect, I was going to say a "samey" taste, that's the best way i can describe it. I reckon your friend is right and to get rid of this samey taste you'll need to move away from kits and onto partial extract or all grain.
I'm serving my apprentiship on kits while slowly building up a budget all grain set up :thumb:

Kits vary in quality, and in general it is safe to say that you get what you pay for, and the older a kit is the more likely that you will get That Homebrew Taste. . . . I'm experimenting with the Design a Brew Kits from Hamstead Homebrew, and so far the results are looking very good. . . I've used their York Brewery kits in the past, and the quality of the extract in those kits was the best I have seen in any kit . . in fact I would rate it better than Muntons Cedarex (Commercial grade extract).