Scottish newbie

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lium

Reaction score
I just started brewing my first ever beer on Sunday! I have drunk a lot of beer in my time... but not brewed my own. Have tasted friends' efforts and was impressed.

Fingers crossed!

Welcome to the forum :cheers:

What part of Scotland and what is your first brew?

Moley said:
Welcome to the forum :cheers:

What part of Scotland and what is your first brew?

I'm living in Edinburgh. There's a new homebrew shop here called Alba (Which is by the way the Gaelic name for Scotland, pr. A-la-ba) so that in part prompted my first brew.

I'm not sure how well my brew is going - no bubbles coming through the valve, but I'm told gas might be escaping through the lid as it is not 100% airtight apparently.

Anyway, I didn't give the brew a good stir when I sprinkled in the yeast (stirred it plenty before) and I'm wondering if that is part of the reason for seeing less activity than I expected. I'm going to open it tonight and give it a good stir and take a hydrometer reading. (just got it, hence no initial reading)

There is a bit of froth on top and going up the edge of the bucket just above the liquid.

lium said:
Alba (Which is by the way the Gaelic name for Scotland, pr. A-la-ba)
A good anthem by Runrig too :thumb:

If you've got froth on top, it's working, so be careful stirring it or it may overflow.
Airlocks on buckets are generally a waste of time.
What brew is it?

Moley said:
lium said:
Alba (Which is by the way the Gaelic name for Scotland, pr. A-la-ba)
A good anthem by Runrig too :thumb:

If you've got froth on top, it's working, so be careful stirring it or it may overflow.
Airlocks on buckets are generally a waste of time.
What brew is it?