pump control vales

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gunner

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,
I've recently aquired a Totton GP28/11 pump to use in my new brewery build, just wondering if it makes a difference which side of the pump a valve needs to be for regulating the flow of the pump. Would it be better on the inlet side of the pump or the outlet side or doesn't it matter with this type of pump?

regards

gunner

I'm not an expert.....but IIRC they do not like a restriction on the input.
You can restrict the output using a by-pass loop and a ball valve.

I have been considering a similar question. I am looking at pumps and things.

markp said:
....You can restrict the output using a by-pass loop and a ball valve.

by-pass loop?

By pass loop - a t-junction just after the pump output. One leg recirculates back to the input and the other goes to the ball valve. The extent to which you open the ball valve governs what comes through and what gets recirculated back to the input.

That is what I assumed. I was looking at a pump in my LHBS yesterday, it ha 1HP and sounds like its abit of a beast. Are pumps best run thru a power controller? or just leave running with the bypass loop?

If Im doing a slow sparge is it best to leave the pump running and just slightly open the valve? or would it be preferable to plug the pump in to a controller (which I havnt even thought about yet..)

Darcey,
From what I know, you just control the flow using the by-pass loop and opening the ball valve. I think the controller would try and slow the pump down and I'm not sure if it would like that.
One of the resident engineer peeps will no doubt be able to add more to this.

Are you just going to use the pump to recirculate and drain your mash tun?