Howdy all. Newcomer to home brew here, help needed!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shearclass

Landlord.
Reaction score
Hi All

How are you?

I'm new to home brewing. am starting off on kits. Currently have one kit in a barrel (Brupaks IPA), one in bottles (Coopers European Lager) and one in fermentation Bucket (Muntons Smugglers Special)

The Brupaks IPA is ready to try on Friday hopefully, as it's been in the barrel 4 weeks now. I'm very excited to sample my first pint of ome brew, but being that it is my first pint, I think it might not be very good.

I've got lots ofquestions to ask, but before I do, I'll search through the posts on here. If I can't find anything I'll post my questions. I hope I can find some help!

Thanks in advance

sounds like you are already well on the road to a very enjoyable hobby :cheers: :drink: :drink:

Welcome to the forum :mrgreen:

Thanks for the welcome!

I wanted to start off with a couple of the more expensive kits as i hoped they would be more likely to taste ok.

I have some questions, but I'm not sure where to post them.

I thought I'd maybe post them on the How To.. thread about brewing kits? If I post it in the wrong place, feel free to move it moderators.

Cheers

Actually I'll just post my questions here then if no one replies I'll try somewhere else.

Don't worry about answering each question, but if you can answer any of my questions i'd be grateful. I am sure that between the regular forum posters I can get some answers!

1 . I read a lot of postings about how bad it is that oxygen entering the beer

a) How do you check brew with a hydrometer without getting oxygen in the brew
b) I've read some posts that say if fermentation is stuck, stir the brew. Won't this add oxygen into it?
c) Is there a particular way to bottle or keg the brew without getting oxygen in it