Hi - Moin from Hamburg (DE)!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Julien-Hamburg

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

Thanks for accepting me & letting me joining your Forum. My name is Julien (coming from France), leaving in Hamburg (Germany) I did started to brew few months ago, did approximately 20 Batch (each 23L). I just like to try new thing, no prefered style, just enjoying brewing new beer and discovering new style/things. I did jump into brewing cause I love good beer, but I am also a researcher in chemistry, and therefore I have access to some cool equipment for analysis...

Regarding my equipment, I qualified myself as 'small' I would say, I have a brewmonkey 30L & few fermenters (1 Conic & few plastic bucket).

Yeast that I like to use ... I am quite a good fan of those Lallemand dry yeast. Did not jump yet into the liquid yeast, as I thing they are quite pricy (too little fridge space so hard to harvest & store). Did few batches with those WHC lab (Saturated / Sweet Release / Einstein), but get kind of disappointed with them. Super Cool design packaging, but I was expecting more for them.

So yes, thanks again for accepting me there ! I already check the forum and find a lot of interesting discussion !

Cheers,
Julien

Last edited by a moderator:
Best place for liquid yeast is Braumarkt. They have a shop in Hamburg and another one in the Netherlands. Wyeast is €9.99 a sachet and I haven't seen it cheaper than that anywhere.
There's no need to use liquid yeast, though. Lallemand sachets are good and we use liquid for variety, not necessarily for quality.
Would recommend you get yourself a spare fridge for your yeasts (and chilling your beer). It's a waste of your skills not to harvest and reuse your yeast even the sachets.
I only go as far as 2nd generation, but I still get at least 5 pitches out of a sachet of yeast, which makes it very cheap.