First BIAB brew completed, some questions re water volume & scaling?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SteveH

Regular.
Reaction score
Hi all!

Newbie here having just attempted (last night!) my first ever brew using BIAB in a 17litre stock pot on the kitchen hob.

Overall it went OK for a first attempt, but I got a little confused re the necessary volumes and ended up with a post-boil OG that was higher than planned.

I used https://www.themaltmiller.co.uk/product/robs-english-esb/ for ingredients, but due to the size of my equipment divided all the grain/hop/water quantities in half.

So the grain bill was:

2600g Maris Otter
113.5g Caramalt
60g Dark Crystal

The instructions said to mash in 2.5l/kg but since I was BIAB-ing I needed to mash with more water (I can only currently heat about 3l extra for sparging), so I mashed for 90mins at 67c with 11l of filtered tap water.

Then I squeezed the bag to get as much wort out as possible, and did a small rinse/dunk sparge (poured a pan of water over the grains, swished it round the bucket then drained/squeezed again) in the FV bucket with another 3l of 67c water.

This gave me about 14l in the kettle, which is exactly half the 28l suggested in the full recipe for pre-boil volume, so I went ahead and boiled for an hour adding hops (half quantity at the same schedule).

I forgot to take a pre-boil gravity reading (and there's no estimate in the recipe), but when I took a post-boil reading it was off the scale of my 1000-1060 Hydrometer - I estimate about 1065 and the recipe estimate was 1055. There was some trub in the sample jar but I'm pretty sure it wasn't obstructing the movement of the hydrometer.

Can anyone help me figure out where I went wrong, should I perhaps sparge more as I assume I've lost more than expected during the boil? Is there any way I can better estimate this next time?