Does that sound right for lemonade?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Laurin

Regular.
Reaction score
Hi,
I want to make some hard lemonade for the early BBQ season. I looked at many recipes and kind of mocked up my own one now.
I am still quite new to the brewing business and it would be great if anybody who has a bit more experience could check if the following recipe sounds alright.

Ingredients

ca 23l water
2.3kg of sugar (probably with a bit of dark sugar for flavour)
juice and zest of 15 lemons
zest of 5 oranges
250ml of bottled lemon juice (contains Potassium metabisulphite)
10 teabags of green tea with lemon
1 cup of chopped ginger
5 tsp yeast nutrients
1 sachet of Lalvin K1V-1116 All Purpose Yeast (make a starter a couple of days before)

Instructions

- I would dissolve all sugar in pan with the 250ml lemon juice and some water and simmer it a bit
- boil first the chopped ginger for 30 min, then add all the zest simmer a bit more and strain it.
- make the tea and let it steep for 15 min or so.
- pour everything in the fermentation bucket and fill up to 23l.
- ad nutrients and yeast starter and aerate with a whisk.

If my calculations are right I should end up with a OG of about 1.040 which should ferment to just over 5%.

Cheers and thanks in advance for any help.

Laurin.

K-sorbate will inhibit yeast production. Not sure if you can boil it out but it's not likely to ferment with that.

Don't underestimate dark sugar, you don't need very much to get a deeper colour at all. Maybe light brown soft would be more to your taste...the molasses flavour is heavily exaggerated after fermentation too.

Not brewed anything like this myself but interested to see how it goes, good luck!

Well I guess it means buying more lemons then or find juice with no preservatives.