Day 1

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Heyzy

Reaction score
Hi there,

This is my first time brewing and have decided to go with a lager kit. I was just wondering about a couple of things,

1, should i tightly close the fermentation bucket lid or leave it open a bit?

2, when should i use the hydrometer?

3, how does a pressure barrel work?

Many thanks,

Heyzy

Hi welcome you can snap the lid tight as long as you have an airlock if not just cover and leave loose. You will need to test with hydrometer at the start of fermentation again in the middle and again at the end usually after a week. It will tell you if fermentation has ended. When your lager has finished fermenting you can put it in the pressure barrel which will need to be primed with sugar. then pressure will build and dispense your lager. You may want to invest in a c02 cartridge to dispense the rest when the barrel gets low on pressure.

Hi, welcome to the forum :drink:

As Mark says, you can put the lid on tightly if you have an airlock, if you don't have an airlock just leave space for the gas to escape.
During fermentation a lot of CO2 is produced and this needs to be able to escape otherwise the pressure will build up in the bucket.

You should test the gravity of the wort with the hydrometer before you pitch the yeast, this will tell you the amount of sugar there is in the wort that could potentially become alcohol. You would be looking for something in the region of 1040.

You should also use the hydrometer to test if fermentation has finished, usually after 7 to 10 days, the reading should be closes to 1012, if it stays constant like that then you are fine to put into bottles.

I can't see any reason to test the gravity of the wort in the middle of fermentation as Mark suggests, I can't see what this would tell you.