Beer getting worse over time.

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aazlad

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm fairly new to brewing so this is my first post.

So far I've brewed a Woodfordes Wherry and a Sundew kit. I did everything as per the instructions including careful sanitisation and rinsing etc. The only thing I did differently was to leave fermentation running for two weeks based on what have read on forums such as this. The final SG was 1014 and 1012 respectively.

Prior to siphoning the beer to easykegs both tasted like beer with no strange sweetness or after taste. After 4 weeks of patience the Wherry was great but with a slight strange metallic taste (similar to Boddies creamflow). After 6 weeks it's still enjoyable but has a slightly sweet twang and similar odour.

At the weekend I also tried the Sundew (after 3 weeks conditioning). This has a very noticeable sweet aftertaste twang and is not particularly pleasant with a similar odour.

Last week I kegged my third brew, a muntons premium gold smugglers. Again on kegging the beer it tasted pretty good, but after only a week in the keg it also has a very slight aftertaste. This time I used a standard pssure barrel.

I've Ben using tap water after a few pals who live in the same village said the water was fine.

Does anyone have any ideas what could be the cause of the strange taste that develops in the keg?

hi and welcome , at what temps did you brew , off flavours can be fermented if temp is a little too high when brewed , best temp to brew is often around 18c depending on what yeasts are used , beer brewed above 22c can have different types of off tastes .