A clear brew?!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Slayer

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a newbie to homebrewing so am pleased to join this forum.

Just a question...:smile:
I brewed American Amber Ale and being the impatient chap I am I started drinking it from the barrel just before 3 weeks of conditioning, it was still cloudy which Iput down to my eagerness! Left it another 2 weeks and it has cleared a bit.
I have a Festival Pilgrims hope in another barrel for 3 weeks and poured a small glass at it is similarly cloudy.
Question is: Is this normal? I have followed the instructions and reviewed advice on this forum. Me is thinking I'm too eager?

Cheers guys.

How long did you leave it in your fermenting vessel for?

The best thing for clearing beer is time and cold conditions, a lot of people "cold crash" (get the temp down to as close at 2c as possible) for between a day and a week after fermentation has finished before transferring to either bottles or barrels.

2+2+2 is the usual forumite advice given, two weeks fermenting, two weeks conditioning and two weeks cold crashing, this should give you a beer that is in good shape, some will however improve in taste/flavour over the next few months, if they survive that long :)

The American Amber Ale was a week in the FV then transferred to the barrel and left in the Utility Room.
The Pilgrims Hope was 10 days in the FV then transferred to the barrel and straight in the garage which is cooler (only just this summer!!).
Both times the FV had stopped bubbling and the SG was steady for 48 hours.

So, cold crash to 2 degC?!! I thought it was transferring the barrel to a cool place, or do you suggest moving the FV to a cool place before barreling?

Also, I have a batch of St Peters Honey Porter in the FV since Friday. It's bubbling away nicely!