Starter kit or all grain starter kit

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrewBilly

Reaction score
Hello All

I am thinking about starting to brew my own beer, so playing around with a few ideas and doing some research.

The question is: should I start off with a beginners starter kit containing everything, or should I make a bit more of an investment and get an all grain starter kit? Is there a natural progression to an all grain brew from a beginners kit?

I would probably feel more satisfied knowing that I brewed my beer from scratch rather than opening a tin. But hey I'm new to this so I would appreciate your advice and guidance.

Cheers
BrewBilly

using a kit you just need a fermenter basically...all grain you will need several large pots or buckets as a boiler and a mash tun + the fermenter

For my two pence worth I have spent my first year brewing kits. 17 in total and every one a winner. Now I feel comfortable with that process I am looking to move things along so had some AG equpiment for Christmas and will be trying my first AG next week.

Nothing wrong with kits , beers is great and minimises the disruption in the kitchen :cheers:

Start with a kit or 2 that way you get the basics without having to fuss about mashing and boiling. Other than a tin opener all the equipment you use with kits is needed with all grain, i.e fermentation bucket and barrel, hydrometer, siphon, thermometer.

Use either a 2 can kit which contains everything you'll need or if use a 1 can kit get a packet of beer kit enhancer rather than table or brewing sugar and you'll get as good a pint as you'll get from kits.

If you enjoy the process then you'll just need to buy a boiler if going for BIAB or a boiler and mash tun if going for a 3 vessel method.