River Cottage Booze Handbook Recipes

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sljhudson

Reaction score
Hello, I've recently started brewing and the RC Booze Handbook has been a really useful guide. All the recipes involve an infusion mash and some are all grain but some include large quantities of malt extract also. Wanting to be a purist, this seems a bit of a cop out! Can the extract be substituted for more grain in the mash or is there a benefit in using some grain and some extract?

I have seen some of his recipes, since I started brewing and had to laugh at the approach they suggest. I'm sure they get decent results, so who am I to criticize.

I wasted my own time between using kits, wanting to be a purist like yourself and making the move to all grain. My wife got me a voucher from BrewUK for Christmas 2013 and I ordered this a few day later:
http://www.brewuk.co.uk/books/gift-ideas/beginners-beer/home-brew-beer.html

I should have used something like this from the start. I suggest you do the same if you do not have a book already. There are loads of amazing websites that provide you with everything you need to know, but I found that I hopped around from one source the other. Sticking to one source until you can comfortably recreate your favourite recipes helped me a lot.

I do all grain beers and beers that use both grain and malt extract. It's not a cop out in my opinion! It's just another way of making beer, and it saves time by reducing the grain bulk that you mash, sparge and boil. You still create a beer by creating a recipe, using different grains in a small steep or mini-mash, choosing and boiling the hops, choosing the yeast and managing the fermentation.

But yes, you can use more grain in place of extract. Extract is just grain that has been mashed and condensed.