Long winded newbie AG questions!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gavdee

Reaction score
Hi all – Newbie here,

OK, now to ask all the questions you've probably all answered a million times before, so if not straight answers, then superb links to answers will work just as well!

I've never brewed before, either from extract or all grain and I'm just going to delve straight into all grain.

I fancied it a while back, looked on youtube for some tutorials, found this guy 'Chris Knight' really good, but it actually did more to scare me off than encourage me!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eIGrsGPVA_Y

Then my other half kindly got me the book 'The Big Book of Brewing' by Dave Line recently, which got me back into the idea of AG brewing.

I've since seen this guy:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KKeEv7UTTP0
which encouraged me further - i.e, 'I could do that!' but I dunno, no disrespect because obviously I've never tried it myself, but it seemed a little TOO amateurish for what I'm after.

Then finally this guy:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ABve6NbPNhk
which seems pretty much bang on in between the above two, and somewhere I'd like to aim for in terms of efficient set up, and not trying (yet) to be TOO scientific, although I'm sure that will change when I get into it!

So questions about set up:

I fancy batch-sparging, so I reckon in terms of vessels, I will need A) a boiler B) a mash tun C) a vessel to collect the run off/s D) a fermenting vessel.

I'm going to buy an insulated coolbox mash tun, as I reckon cost-wise, it's not too much different between home building and buying. Obviously I will buy the FV and the run off vessel, but it's the boiler that bothers me - I've seen an Electrim boiler for nigh on 70 quid for what is essentially a plastic bucket with elements, thermostat and tap attached!