Increasing ABV after primary fermentation

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gmc

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am new to home brewing. I have my first batch on and after taking my readings it looks like I am at final gravity with a couple of consecutive gravity readings. I am making a kit and largely following the instructions. After using an ABV calculator it looks like I am at around 3.7% instead of the 4.5% I was aiming for. I have a few things to improve for the next batch which may have helped this one to reach a more appropriate ABV after primary fermantation, but given I have got what I have got with this batch, is there any way on increasing the ABV at this point of the process. If not, I will still prime the batch and bottle it for conditioning and see what its like, but if there are any techniques for increasing ABV at this point of the brewing process that are beginner friendly, I might give them a go.

Any suggestions will be welcomed!

Yes there is a way, you can add a boiled and cooled sugar solution to the FV. The yeast will ferment all of those simple sugars and you will get a higher ABV and the final gravity you have now will remain the same afterwards. If your brew's fermentation stopped short (what was the FG?) then the higher ABV may balance the extra sweetness caused by that higher than expected FG.

Try this calculator to work out how much sugar you need: Gravity Adjustment Calculator - AleArchive.com

Thanks for the suggestion. My starting gravity was 1.036 and my final is 1.008. I have recorded 1.008 48 hours apart. The chart that came with the kit said the final gravity should be around1.009. It's a golden ale. I wasn't able to stir it as vigorously as I wanted when on brew day. I also just dumped the packed of yeast in as the instructions stated which on further reading is less than ideal.