Ikea Bottles?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rhinopig

Reaction score
Hello all,

Soon I will be brewing Brewferm Belgian Abbey Style. We have quite a few Ikea swing top style bottle that we bought for....well I don't know why we bought them, we just did.

Would these bottles be up for the job? If you don't know what I'm talking about, they are 1 litre glass bottles with a Grolsch style top.

Thanks in advance

Rhino :drink:

Im no expert but iv read that you should only use chunky glass bottles for brewing, like the bottles ale come in.
Normal beer bottles like budweiser etc i got told aren't good to use. As i say im no expert its just what i have read from other brewers, so if the bottles seem pretty chunky and not too fragile then i dont see any problem.
Iv just bottled an i.p.a in one of them style bottles and 2 days in it hasn't popped the lid so seems ok :thumb:

they are probably made for non-pressurised water so no. i dont know though but probably wouldnt risk it.

Just try a couple of bottles, that way you wont waste much if they dont work. Trial and error.

Rhinopig said:
We have quite a few Ikea swing top style bottle that we bought for....well I don't know why we bought them, we just did.
Ah yes, the impulse buys on the way to checkout .... clever how they make you do that :lol:

However, I've picked up those swing-top bottles, handled them and put them down again.

I don't think I would trust them, and apart from that, they are clear glass.

Yes I agree with Moley, when you pick them up they just feel too light.
I dont think they designed as a pressure bottle more of a bottle for oil / vinegar etc.

I use them for cordial/squash as they look nicer than plastic bottles in the kitchen.