Home Brewing Newbie here!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paul Narramore

Reaction score
Well after a gap of twenty five or so years, I am now planning to return to brewing beer at home again. I've probably thrown away or lost most if not all of my previous equipment so will be starting from scratch. Obviously things have moved on in the intervening years so any advice would be welcomed. I stayed with malt extract kits using both Boots and John Bull kits and later adding dry hops but never ventured into using grain. To boil the water I used a large capacity aluminium pot which has since been lost so I thought of getting an old Burco.

Anything else I should know? I'm happy to stay with malt extract kits for the time being.

If you want to get started with little investment I'd go for a wherry and plastic bucket(about £9). Wherry makes a good Ale but there are plenty of Lagers, Bitters IPAs etc and its worth checking reviews first if you want something different.

I've not got adventurous enough to try all grain yet but there are plenty on here who will advise you in that direction.

Happy Brewing :D :cheers:

Hi and welcome from another old time brewer, things have moved on a lot but very much for the better.

Hello, welcome back to brewing!

You need :-
  • a plastic bucket[/*:m:2wr4naxu]
  • a thermometer (lcd; spirit or digital) [/*:m:2wr4naxu]
  • a plastic spoon or paddle[/*:m:2wr4naxu]
  • a siphon and racking cane (if you dont have a tap and a bottling wand)[/*:m:2wr4naxu]
  • steriliser[/*:m:2wr4naxu]

You can keg or bottle your beer. If you bottle, you can use swing top bottles; plastic PET bottles; or beer bottles and a capper (plus bottle caps). If you prime each bottle, you'll need carbonation drops or something to measure out half a teaspoon of sugar, and a funnel.

It's also well worth getting :-
  • a hydrometer[/*:m:2wr4naxu]