Hi everyone...complete beginner here lookin for some advice

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jdxxx

Reaction score
I really want to start brewing my own...everything really but I thought I could start off with one of those alcotec spirit base kits as they sound really easy (and I have a couple of festivals coming up and no spends for alcohollls) I was just wondering what equipment I would need? I know I'll need a fermenting container but someone told me that for now I could just use a 5L water bottle with a balloon over the opening rather than buying the proper kit...would this actually work??

Thanks in advance if you can help:)

Welcome to the forum jdxxx.

Your right, you can use the water bottles with great success, but for less than a couple of quid you can buy an airlock and grommet which can be used in the top after drilling a hole in it.

Try your local freecycle for homebrew gear, you will be surprised what you can get.

As for the alcotec kits, I havn't tried them. For a starter you could try a forum favourite such as Wurzel's Orange. For less than three quid you could make a gallon of really good quaffable wine ( ask forum member Moley, he always has hundreds of gallons going !!).

Feel free to ask loads of questions, they really are a great bunch on the forum.

Cheers Neil :thumb:

aneray said:
For a starter you could try a forum favourite such as Wurzel's Orange. For less than three quid you could make a gallon of really good quaffable wine ( ask forum member Moley, he always has hundreds of gallons going !!).
A slight exaggeration :nono:
It's rarely more (but seldom less) than 30 litres on the go at any one time. :whistle:

Welcom to the forum :cheers:

Wurzel's Orange is quick and fairly foolproof.

If you're just wanting to make quick, cheap alcohol, look for the Turbo Cider threads, that's just supermarket apple juice plus yeast.