Has my first attempt gone seriously wrong??

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bobo

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to the world of homebrewing so forgive my lack of knowledge. I bought myself a Youngs brew buddy lager kit as I thought it would be a good place to start. After following the instructions and fermenting, I siphoned the lager into a pressure barrell and was told to leave it standing for around 3 weeks around when it should become drinkable.

Well its been in the barrell for nearly 5 weeks and although it has gone nice and light in colour it is still very cloudy. Has something gone wrong. I tried to keep the temp within range but as its been hot i'm thinking that this may be the problem.

Can anyone help me.

Thanks in advance.

Bobo

Hi Bobo

Welcome to the forum :D

How cloudy is it? It could be a haze rather than a cloudy yeast suspension. What temperature are you serving at?

One thing you could try is pour some into a glass and leave it to see if anything settles out.

Wez

It seems to me to be quite cloudy. I will take a pic at some point and attatch it.

As for temp its around 21 (room temp) was thinking maybe bottle some and put it in the fridge.

21c means that it's not a chill haze, has the keg been disturbed at all during the 3 weeks?

Also what sort of keg are you serving from, does it have a top or a bottom tap?

The keg has had the odd knock as its by the back door, it seems to be the coolest place in the house.

The barrell has a tap at the bottom.

The first few pints may be a bit cloudy as the bottom is where the yeast is going to settle out to, some kegs have top taps which allow you to drink the clearer beer at the top first bottom tap kegs are very good and many people favour them to top tap kegs but they can take longer to drop bright.