electrim boiler/mashtun

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I have . . . And it didn't . . . And I still have the element with all the charred grain on

nuff said :hmm:

i did it was more than 20 years ago and i got a fealing this is what made me stop brewing all those years ago
I now got it sorted so I got a mashtun was the first thing i made when i started brewing again
not worth it for the sake of a bucket plastic plate and some isulation and some pipe fittings.

23 litre bucket with lid - £6
insulation from homebase - £15
some duct tape to tape the insulation on.
tank connector and ball valve from screwfix - £5 or so all in

Mine only lost 1.3c in a 90 minute mash :thumb:

I did when I first started AG brewing (about 15 years ago), I used a grain bag to hold the malt above the element (see above for reasons) Sparged using a kettle and well it worked, and worked fine for a couple of years.
I now use a picnic coolbox (e.g. £7 from Asda) and a copper strainer (I think you could use plastic here as there is no heat transfer necessity) and have been using this type of setup for the past 12+ years very efficient, low heat loss and easily replaceable also available in various sizes (25l is fine for 5gal brews, 32l if you want higher gravity larger/brews, +)

I have just this year got around to making a hlt :shock: Never really needed it until my back started hurting, and a couple of "accidents" in the kitchen, now I try and not move 5gals of hot stuff about. I just used my FV as a holder for the sparge water, that was heated in the boiler then transfered to the FV and then via some siphon tube to the sparge arm, worked fine as I say for 12+ years.