Cumberland Brandy recipe

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

simonkidder

Regular.
Reaction score
I started this today. just to point out this is not my recipe. it was given to me by 'the happy hop' LHBS in burnley market and i changed it alittle and im typing off memory as a guide for anyone who would like to give it a go. i know its technically a fruit wine but who cares. im sure people will pick at it but im a novice and im only trying to help. any questions ill try and answer but im sure others will help too.

2lb crushed malt
2lb chopped raisins
2lb brown sugar
1 orange
high alcohol yeast
nutrient
1 tspn glycerine

all equipment should be sterile before use.

wash and boil the malt for 15-20mins until soft. put chopped raisins and sugar in the FV, add the malt and liquid to the FV and mix till the sugar is disolved. top up with water (bottled or boiled the cooled) up to 1 gallon add the juice of the orange and a few small piece of the orange peal but not the pith. once it has cooled add the yeast (best to get it started in a little dish wish some warm water and nutrient and leave for 20mins before adding to FV)

THIS IS WHERE I AM UP TO AS I ONLY STARTED IT TODAY.

After it has been in the FV for a week, strain through a muslin bag into a DJ. Once the hydrometer reads around 1.010. add another 1/2lb of brown sugar (best to do this by draining out some of the wine and mixing the sugar in then adding back to the DJ). leave another week. Again once the hydrometer reads around 1.010 add 1/4 lb of brown sugar the same way as last time. keep repeating this process in smaller and smaller amounts of brown sugar until it no longer ferments anymore.