Corny questions

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Moley

Regular.
Reaction score
Ok, I've read Vossy's excellent guide to Cornies and tubby_shaw's how to clean them, but I'm completely new to these things and sill have a couple of questions.

I seem to have 2 or 3 leaky poppets. Is this fairly normal, will they seal better when there's a bit of pressure inside the keg, or should the posts be replaced?

I haven't spoken to Norm yet but I know I will need two lids, at least one new ‘gas in’ post (missing) and possibly more (as above). Any idea what sort of numbers I'm looking at?

I know I will need a few lid, post and dip tube o-rings, but I've already seen Norm's ebay prices for those, unless Aleman comes back with his information on silicone rings.

Regulators seem to have two inlets and one outlet, a dial to 60psi, a screw and a tap.
If I've got gas coming in from the right, does this make sense?
PB10050305.jpg

Could be wrong but they look like secondary regulators for gassing individual kegs, think you'll still need a primary regulator to attach to a gas bottle :hmm:

Before contacting Norm have a look at the Hop and grape site for a guide

Yes, ok, I should have said “I've got this pair of secondary regulators, does this set-up look right?”

Moley said:
I've already seen Norm's ebay prices for those, unless Aleman comes back with his information on silicone rings.
OK Lid O Ring is around 87-90mm and is 6.6mm thick No direct replacement for this :( but ORS-BS341 at 11.25 for 5 will fit the bill (probably :pray: ) Another Alternative is ORS-BS621 at 3.75 each

Post O rings ORS-0106-24 at 6.25 for 25

Dip tube O rings ORS-0076-24 at 12.50 for 50

Moley said:
If I've got gas coming in from the right, does this make sense?
PB10050305.jpg
:thumb:

Bump:
Moley said: