Airlock necessary for cider?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DryEye

Reaction score
As might be clear from the header I'm an absolute novice at this lark. My fiance bought me a cider making kit and I've been trying to make a decent stab at making it. One particular issue is causing me concern. There is a seal-able plastic 5 gallon vessel for the fermentation process in the kit. There is also an airlock in the kit. However there is no hole in the vessel for the airlock to go through. The lid is either sealed and the airlock has no access or lid is left ajar for access and the air lock is pointless. I emailed the suppliers of the kit and they said "you don't need an airlock when making beer or cider. Just clip down the lid loosely so the co2 can escape". I have not seen this anywhere else and just wanted to check if I'm being taken for a ride? Any help much appreciated.

Welcome to the forum :drink:

I always use an airlock - it lets the CO2 produced by the fermentation escape without letting any airborn nasties get into the brew.

The lid ideally should have a hole with a rubber grommet fitted that allows the airlock to seal in nice and snugly.

Personally I'd winge at the supplier a bit more and insist on the proper lid being sent out - they're just fobbing you off to avoid the extra costs in my opinion :evil:

You need the gas to be able to get out, and nothing to be able to get in. An airlock achieves this nicely. But a lid that doesn't totally seal or can be lifted occasionally without disturbing the brew too much is fine. Carbon dioxide is heavier than air and so forms a protective layer over the liquid. But it can only really protect against oxygen and minor airborne nasties - you want a lid to stop flies/cats/your phone etc falling in - and bacteria /could/ float down through the CO2 layer.