AG #1 The Amber Lager (aka the rise of the tiny shiny)

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Abiruth

Reaction score
I've been making wine for a few months now and really fancied doing some beer/lager. Only problem was I really didn't have the equipment or appetite to make the 40 pints that most kits provide. So I turned to all grain. I struggled to find anything helpful at first, just lots of people saying what's the point putting all the effort in just to make a gallon. Finally I came across http://brooklynbrewshop.com/ which gave me some hope that a gallon batch wasn't too mad.

I downloaded Brewmate which made everything so much easier. Then decided I wanted to make a lager as I've got a wine cooler with space for a demijohn or two. I ordered some lager malt and some saflager s-23, but I didn't want it too plain so I bought some crystal malt too. As for hops I went for saaz.

My recipe for 4.5 litres was as follows:

Grain
909g Lager malt
101g Crystal malt (60)

Hops
Saaz 10g 60mins
Saaz 15g 30mins
Saaz 10g 15mins

So on to the pictures:

IMG_01881_zps3646dc6a.jpg

These are my tiny shinies. A 4 ish litre stockpot i've had for ages and a cheap 5 litre stockpot for the boil. I'd like to get a larger one in the future.

IMG_01891_zps4ae1eb01.jpg

Here is the grain..tell me if I'm boring you!!! I bought a pair of digital scales but they decided not to work before I started brewing...so out came the oldies!

IMG_01901_zpsaf631d51.jpg

I used the smaller pot as a mash tun. After mixing the grain with 3 litres of water i popped it in a freezer bag and stuffed a load of towels and sheets in. I've not got the specifics but it did keep a lot of heat in for the 1 hour mash.

IMG_01911_zpsac07a9e7.jpg